Jane Addams Middle School PTSA Nominating Committee is looking to fill various open Board and Committee positions for the upcoming 2024/2025 school year. We strongly encourage consideration by all our current JAMS and incoming families alike.

The JAMS PTSA Board is committed to reflecting the diversity represented in our school community. (See our diversity statement here) We value the representation of our BIPOC, English language learners, and LGBTQIA+ community members. As a PTSA, we are committed to inclusivity and making accommodations, so that it is easier for families to make this commitment. As such, we offer remote participation options, interpreters, translated materials, and onsite childcare. We support structuring positions as co-chairs, if desired.

2024-2025 Open Positions

Executive Board Positions  (Elected)

Board Positions (Non-elected)

Chairs / Liaisons/ Workgroups/Committee Positions
(If you do not wish to be part of the Board, but want to volunteer in some way, please consider the following positions, in your area/s of interest. These positions do not have to attend board meetings, unless desired.)

  • Reflections Chair: Chairs Committee, disseminates information about and organizes the annual Reflections program with the local PTA units.
  • Environmental Stewardship Liaison: Supports responsible use and protection of the natural environment of the school/school grounds through conservation and sustainable practices.
  • Music Liaison: Handles the music students management for events, coordinating’ and facilitating communication between JAMS PTSA and FOJAM.
  • Special Education Liaison: Supports PTA leaders in issues related to special education within the school.
  • English Language Learning Liaison: Responsible for assisting the Limited English Proficient Students, and families in accessing any and all appropriate educational and community services needed to meet their current needs.
  • HCC Liaison: Responsible for coordinating and facilitating communication between JAMS PTSA the HCC Program.
  • Staff Appreciation Workgroup: Responsible for curating and executing staff appreciation week event & activities.
  • STEAM Fair Workgroup: Responsible for coordinating and executing STEAM fair at JAMS.
  • Movie Night Workgroup: Responsible for collaborating, creating and executing movie night.
  • 8th Grade Promotion Workgroup: Responsible for coordinating with JAMS staff and Students to executing 8th grade promotion program.
  • Nominating Committee: Responsible for creating and communicating PTSA open positions to local feeder schools, JAMS community and nominating new members.

2023-2024 Current PTSA Board

2023-2024 Current Executive Committee

Meet your Board Officers here!

President:  Erin Gamet, [email protected](OPEN in 2024-25)
Vice President: Lanetria Luevano  (OPEN in 2024-25)
Secretary: Richard Newman (OPEN in 2024-25)
Treasurer: Jane Tunks Demel (OPEN in 2024-25)
Legislative Chair: Open
Assistant Treasurer: Open

2022-2023 Board Members

Membership Chair Megan McCormick
Communications Co-Chair (website/FB)Alma Dea Michelena, [email protected] (OPEN in 2024-25)
Communications Co-Chair (newsletter)
Tatiana Kaminsky, [email protected]
Fundraising Chair
6th Grade BLT Rep:
 Jennifer Pope
7th Grade BLT Rep: Lanetria Luevano
8th Grade BLT Co-Reps: Open
Volunteer Chair/CoordinatorKarla Sclater
Co-Transportation (lead): ​Open
Co-Transportation (equipment): ​Open
Community Outreach: Open, [email protected]

2023-2024 Committees

Environmental StewardshipOpen, http://www.jamsdreambig.org
Packs for Kids Co-CoordinatorsOpen
Nominating Committee: Open
Staff Appreciation ​Open
STEAM FairOpen
Movie Night: Open
8th Grade PromotionOpen
Music Liaison:
Special Education LiaisonOpen
English Language Learning Liaison
JAMS parent rep for the HCC advisory committee:
HCC LiaisonOpen

Please send general PTSA questions to [email protected]

Please send updates for the newsletter and website to [email protected].

The deadline for putting news items into the email newsletter, Jaguar News, is Wednesday at 7 p.m. (for Friday delivery).

Executive Committee